Tanzania Episcopal Conference Take A Tour TEC has more than 80 room & Seminar room Take A Tour


To be a Pastorally driven organ of the Catholic Bishops of Tanzania that lives catholic values and demands professional competence in its work


As an instrument of the Bishops Assembly ,the Tanzania Catholic Secretariat shall guide, coordinate, facilitate and promote pastoral and social services through collaboration with people of good will, for the evangelization of all


  1. Trust in God
  2. Moral integrity
  3. Commitment
  4. Spirit of team work
  5. Prefessionalism
  6. Compassion
  7. Accountability and Transparency
  8. Respect to Principles of Catholic Ethics
  9. Solidarity

Massage from President of TEC

Welcome to the Tanzania Episcopal Conference website. We are confident that our website will give you enough information. You will see and learn more of what we are about, what we do and what we believe. This website will keep you informed of our, dioceses, activities and give useful information that you may need. Enjoy your visit.

About Tanzania Episcopal Conference

The Tanzania Episcopal Conference (TEC) is the conference of bishops of the Roman Catholic Church in Tanzania. Founded in 1956, the Episcopal Conference was officially recognized by the government in 1957. It includes all the Catholic bishops of the country, ordinary, and auxiliary emeritus. Its headquarters is located in the capital Dar es Salaam. The statutes of the Conference were approved by the Holy See on January 8, 1980.

The TEC is a member of the Association of Member Episcopal Conferences in Eastern Africa (AMECEA) and Symposium of Episcopal Conferences of Africa and Madagascar (SECAM).

The TEC consists of the following institutions: the Plenary Assembly, the Permanent Council, the Secretary-General, eight departments, three research units, eight commissions. The authority and responsibility for managing the activities of TEC are granted Plenary Assembly, composed of all members, which meets once a year and is chaired by the President of the Conference. The management of the TEC is instead assigned to the Permanent Council, assisted by the Secretariat General. The Permanent Council is composed of the President of the Presiding Bishop of TEC and the Departments of TEC. The duties of the Secretary General are to organize the work of the Plenary Assembly, to implement its decisions, to liaise between the dioceses of the country.

The TEC is then composed of eight departments (finance, pastoral, health, charity, communications, lay apostolate, education and seminars, liturgy), three units (including the ecclesiastical charge of building) and eight Commissions (armed forces and prisons, Migrants, Theology, Canon Law, Justice and Peace, Ecumenism, Consecrated Life).


Askofu Wolfgang Pissa Ofm Cap

Askofu wa Jimbo katoliki la Lindi,Rais wa Baraza la Maaskofu Katoliki Tanzania Askofu
More Detail

Text box item sample content